PDA

View Full Version : Linux quickies

Nixie Pixel
April 13th, 2009, 02:39 AM
Hey everyone, linuxhaxor.net approached me and asked me if I would be willing to do a weekly "Linux quickie" video. The point would be to talk about something educational as well as simply to have a woman talking about Linux to make it seem less intimidating for people.

I would love if you fine folk could give me ideas on what to talk about to better get the word out about Linux (Ubuntu being what I use as my distro, so I talk about it, and people who call me an Ubuntu fanboi(girl?) be damned!), but also be somewhat educational.

Thanks to the wonderful people of this forum I have some things I can talk about already, but I'd love to make this as useful as I can to people. Keep in mind that I'm still really new at this so I can't very well talk about really advanced topics.. yet!

Here is an example of what I'm doing:

Nixie's GRUB dual-boot quickie video (http://www.linuxhaxor.net/2009/04/11/nixies-linux-haxor-quickie-getting-started-with-grub/)

Thanks!

SuperSonic4
April 13th, 2009, 02:41 AM
Do what most people want - browsing and multimedia. In this I'd include

medibuntu
codecs
Flash 32/64

bashveank
April 13th, 2009, 02:48 AM
Whatever you do, make sure your video is sharp and contrasty, and your audio crisp, otherwise everyone will be put off.

Rokurosv
April 13th, 2009, 02:49 AM
You could talk about Linux, or Ubuntu, equivalents for some apps, for example OpenOffice to MS Office, similarities, pros and cons, etc. that type of stuff, because a lot of people I know ask me questions like: "Does Linux have an office suite? Can I use MSN on Linux? Can I plug in my Ipod on Linux?".

Nixie Pixel
April 13th, 2009, 02:49 AM
medibuntu I can do, no problem
codecs...maybe, just what is recommended to install along with medibuntu
flash, however, I would need help with, since I still have problems with flash stuttering from time to time

ghostandmachine
April 13th, 2009, 06:08 AM