PDA

View Full Version : Scanner class in Eclipse not working

Zebra Lord
April 12th, 2009, 11:09 PM
Hello everyone,
I am a newbie to Linux and also to Java. However I had installed the latest Java jdk and jre. I then installed Eclipse using the Add/Remove application. Eclipse works fine except that some of the classes from the Java API seem to be missing. For example, Eclipse will allow me to import java.util.* but not java.util.Scanner.

I know that the Scanner class exists because when I write code which includes a Scanner class in a txt file and compile it in the terminal it works. Does Eclipse use its own compiler or something?

Any help will be appreciated!

chrisjsmith
April 12th, 2009, 11:14 PM
It uses gcj/classpath rather than sun java by default.

You need to put sun java on (install ubuntu-restricted-extras) and configure eclipse to use it:

sudo gedit /etc/eclipse/jdk

move entry "sun-jdk-6" to the top of the list, then restart eclipse. Modify your project so that it picks up the provided jdk rather than the default one.

This is from memory so it might not be 100% accurate.

Zebra Lord
April 12th, 2009, 11:25 PM
It uses gcj/classpath rather than sun java by default.

You need to put sun java on (install ubuntu-restricted-extras) and configure eclipse to use it:

sudo gedit /etc/eclipse/jdk

move entry "sun-jdk-6" to the top of the list, then restart eclipse. Modify your project so that it picks up the provided jdk rather than the default one.

This is from memory so it might not be 100% accurate.

Thanks for the help but the only file in /etc/eclipse is a java_home txt file. I opened the file, but /usr/lib/jvm/java-6-sun was already at the top of the list.
Also you said to "Modify your project so that it picks up the provided jdk rather than the default one." Could you please elaborate on how to do that. Like I said I'm a newbie :P.

doas777
April 12th, 2009, 11:31 PM