PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cant Install Ubuntu on Virtual PC

Fonzie2010
April 12th, 2009, 02:02 PM
Hi guys, I am new to the Ubuntu OS and i would very much like to try it out.

I downloaded an old PPC of Ubuntu 8.10, it was an alternate CD. I downloaded it, burned it to a disc, (kept the Iso). I opened Virtual PC and selected linux, UNIX, Unspecified, no matter what i choose i just doesnt seem to go.

all it says when the VPC starts is this.

Reboot and Select Proper Boot Device
Or Insert boot media in the selected Boot Device.

Yes I have put the CD in, what can i do?

0cton
April 12th, 2009, 02:05 PM
I am not familiar with Virtual PC but it means the virtual CD-rom witch can be linked to the real one
look into the options on media and stuff (It has a virtual cdrom there witch can be mounted or be related to the "real" cdrom)

Fonzie2010
April 12th, 2009, 02:26 PM
I start up VPC, Select Linux is my OS, it starts up and gives me that message.

I select the Iso, Nothing Happens, just gives me the message again (and yes i clicked reset computer)

I selected capture disc, and then reset, nothing happened.

I just made a new one with the disc inserted, and still nothing happened.

kpatz
April 12th, 2009, 02:46 PM
Check the boot order in the VPC's settings. Make sure it boots from the CD before the hard drive.

Fonzie2010
April 12th, 2009, 04:58 PM
Check the boot order in the VPC's settings. Make sure it boots from the CD before the hard drive.

How do i do that?

kpatz
April 13th, 2009, 02:08 PM
Select the virtual machine and click Settings. Then go to the Advanced tab. The boot order is at the top.

Change it so the CD/DVD drive is listed before the hard disk.

Also, make sure the ISO is mounted (from the CD/DVD option on the left side of the settings dialog).

Aubergines
April 13th, 2009, 02:18 PM