PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to install kismet for BCM43XX!!!!!!

reltx
April 12th, 2009, 02:14 AM
How do I install kismet on Ubuntu 8.10 on my dv6105ca. I have a BCM4311 card and I don't understand how the " ./configure" and "make" comands work. Can someone provide a complete n00b guide as to how to do this.

I already installed the drivers from the "How To: Broadcom BCM43xx" thread.

PLEASE HELP!

chili555
April 12th, 2009, 02:55 AM
Kismet is in the Ubuntu repositories and so there is no need to go through the agony of ./configure, make, etc. Simply open a terminal and do:
sudo apt-get install kismetThen, when you want to set up your /etc/kismet/kismet.conf, there is a nifty README:
less /usr/share/doc/kismet/README.gzYou will be especially interested in Sections 9 and 12 of the README. Post back if you need help.

reltx
April 12th, 2009, 04:03 PM
thnx

chaser469
August 13th, 2009, 02:49 PM
hi im a complete noob to ubuntu, and am pulling my hair out trying to get kismet up and running

' You will be especially interested in Sections 9 and 12 of the README. Post back if you need help. '

i am trying to configure kismet.conf.in. apparently i need to specify the: source, and suiduser.

eg. how do i specify the source from this:

*-network
description: Wireless interface
product: PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network Connection
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:0b:00.0
logical name: wmaster0
version: 02
serial: 00:18:de:db:68:65
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list logical ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=iwl3945 ip=192.168.1.100 latency=0 module=iwl3945 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11abg
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX
vendor: Broadcom Corporation
bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
logical name: eth0
version: 02
serial: 00:19:b9:4d:31:64
size: 10MB/s
capacity: 100MB/s