PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Install problems

bewarellamas
April 12th, 2009, 01:09 AM
I'm new to Linux and just installed Ubuntu 8.10. I have having some strange issues and I don't know what to make of them.
I went through the install process successfully and got to the log in screen and logged in. When I log in I get a tan screen that does nothing. As I said I am new and maybe this is what I should see, but I don't know what to do with it. I tried changing the session to GNOME and GNOME failsafe, but that gave the same result. Sometimes when using the default sessions (I can't remember that that was called) the screen would turn black and nothing would happen. In all instances the mouse cursor still moves, but when it turns black the cursor becomes the waiting icon and stays that way. Any advice would be appreciated

oh...
Desktop edition 8.10
768MB Ram
Intel Celeron processor
Trying to fire it up on an old intel machine to try it out.

abn91c
April 12th, 2009, 03:54 AM
it may be the default desktop effects, try this ctr+alt+f1 to get tto a command prompt then type the following commands
sudo apt-get remove compiz
sudo apt-get remove compiz-core
sudo reboot it will ask you for your password, you will not get or see any ******* when you type it, that is a normal linux security feature. just type it and hit enter then type the above commands.

nstolar
April 12th, 2009, 05:24 AM
I'm new to Linux and just installed Ubuntu 8.10. I have having some strange issues and I don't know what to make of them.