PDA

View Full Version : A very in-depth review of Linux Mint

miggols99
April 11th, 2009, 04:27 PM
I have reviewed Linux Mint 6, since I have been using it for a few months. Have a look here:

http://archux.com/page/extensive-review-linux-mint-6-felicia

Twitch6000
April 11th, 2009, 04:57 PM
Nice review!

I agree with what you said on the Mint Art lol..

However I must say I find the Mint Tools to very easy to use :p.

swoll1980
April 11th, 2009, 05:30 PM
I think you spent way to much time comparing it to Ubuntu. Sounds like a little kid with a vendetta wrote it, or a Linux Mint salesman trying to get me dump Ubuntu, and switch to Mint.

miggols99
April 11th, 2009, 06:01 PM
I think you spent way to much time comparing it to Ubuntu. Sounds like a little kid with a vendetta wrote it, or a Linux Mint salesman trying to get me dump Ubuntu, and switch to Mint.
I'm comparing it to Ubuntu because Linux Mint is based on Ubuntu. I'm trying to show that Linux Mint isn't just Ubuntu + codecs like most people think it is.

swoll1980
April 11th, 2009, 06:14 PM
I'm comparing it to Ubuntu because Linux Mint is based on Ubuntu. I'm trying to show that Linux Mint isn't just Ubuntu + codecs like most people think it is.

But then it sounds way less like a review when this is your main goal. I read tons of Ubuntu reveiws, and none of them were focused towards, telling people how much different it was than Debian... Just saying.

SomeGuyDude
April 11th, 2009, 06:22 PM

All the review seems to have determined is that it's Ubuntu + codecs + slightly altered update/install interfaces. It's still the same dang system. If you don't find synaptics difficult to use and are capable of typing "sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras", what will Mint give me?

Mehall
April 11th, 2009, 06:36 PM
Am I the only one who thinks that mintinstall looks EXACTLY like Synaptic.

Not simplified, but with options removed. :/