PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do I set up an internet connection/network on Ubuntu Ultimate Edition 2.1?

azngujuonfire
April 10th, 2009, 05:42 AM
Hey, this is azngujuonfire.

I just registered and i am in need of huge help and need to be enlightened about the world of Linux OS.
I just downloaded and burned Linux Ubuntu Ultimate Edition 2.1, and i need major help on how to set up a network and internet connection in ubuntu ultimate edition. I have cable internet, a cable modem and a trendnet wireless router. I have Vista Ultimate 64 bit right now, connected to the internet. I want to INSTALL Ubuntu Ultimate Edition, but i have no clue how to set up an internet connection. My network card is a Realtek 8168/8111B Family card. If anyone could give me some good instructions and help on how to set up a network/internet connection, to a complete newbie at Linux OS, it would be GREATLY appreciated.

This is where i got the .iso of Ubuntu UE 2.1 from:
http://ultimateedition.info/ultimate-edition-21/

Toady00
April 10th, 2009, 06:06 AM
I don't know much about your ultimante edition. I don't think it is a official version but it should work the same. I looked on the wireless wiki page and it doesn't look like your chipset is supported. So you'll probably have to use the ndiswrapper. I have never had to use it so I don't know much about it, but I think the basics are you use the windows version of the driver and ndiswrapper makes it work for ubuntu

Toady00
April 10th, 2009, 06:09 AM
Here is a link to the wiki on ndiswrapper https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/Driver/Ndiswrapper

azngujuonfire
April 10th, 2009, 06:22 AM
oh ok thanks, but the ndiswrapper thing only talks about wireless cards, mine is just a networking card, w/ an ethernet port... same thing/concept?

Toady00
April 10th, 2009, 06:55 AM
oh ok thanks, but the ndiswrapper thing only talks about wireless cards, mine is just a networking card, w/ an ethernet port... same thing/concept?