PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trouble installing Ubuntu on a new HDD

denphi03
April 9th, 2009, 09:31 PM
Also, if it is a sata hard drive some motherboards need to have the bios set to have the sata controller set in bios.

Hello, I am new to Ubuntu and this forum, but I have a similar issue to the original poster, so I figured this is a good place to ask...

My wife dropped her gateway mx6930 laptop and broke the (SATA) hard drive permanently. I bought a new SATA hard drive and of course it happens to be a different manufacturer and model, but I'm trying to get Ubuntu on it.

The computer boots to bios and i can configure it, but once i press "install" ubuntu tells me that it cannot detect my hard drive.

i think setting my sata controller in bios might fix this issue, but i need a little guidance on how this is accomplished please?

manishtech
April 9th, 2009, 09:33 PM
Are you able to boot as a Live environment?
Is the Hard Disk connected properly?

denphi03
April 9th, 2009, 09:58 PM
The hard drive disk is definately physically connected properly. as far as anything else, probably not.

Ubuntu runs from cd and gets to the install screen (keyboard only). Then i hit 'install' and the disc spins for a while and then i get an error message saying that it cant find my hard drive.

i dont have any driver disks for the new hard drive (western digital 250 gb sata). and i dont have any driver disks for the mobo either

im assuming this is a bios issue. but i dont know what to do about it

Yvan300
April 9th, 2009, 10:05 PM
Most likely it's the bios unable to recognize the hard drive, because ubuntu comes with great driver support. Can't remember at the moment but there is supported to be a setting menu in the bios that shows connected peripherals. Is the new hard drive listed?

denphi03
April 9th, 2009, 10:10 PM