PDA

View Full Version : Palindrome problems

Kaptainwow
April 9th, 2009, 07:47 PM
Hello. I'm quite new to programming, though I've been working on and off for the past year. I am currently having issues with a program that checks to see if an input character string is a palindrome. The problem is in the strrev function, I'm just unsure of what is done wrong.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

char* strrev(char* str, int str_length){
char* str_rev = malloc(str_length);

for (int x = 0; x != str_length; x++){
str_rev[x] = str[(str_length + 1)- x];
}

str_rev[str_length] = '\n';

return str_rev;
}

int main(){
int length;
char input[30];

printf ("Input a word: ");
fgets (input, 30, stdin);
length = strlen(input)-1;
char *reverse = strrev(input, length);
if (strcmp(reverse, input) == 0){
printf ("This is a palindrome!");
}
else {
printf ("This is not a palindrome!");
}

return 0;
}

dwhitney67
April 9th, 2009, 08:20 PM
You have lots of problems in your code. Compile your code with the -g option, and then run it through a debugger such as gdb. Personally, I prefer a gui for debugging, thus I rely on ddd.

On a side-note, your algorithm is very inefficient. You should find the mid-point of the input string, then starting from the middle of the word, compare each character with its mirror. Be wary of even-sized strings vs. odd-sized strings.

Arndt
April 9th, 2009, 08:46 PM
You have lots of problems in your code. Compile your code with the -g option, and then run it through a debugger such as gdb. Personally, I prefer a gui for debugging, thus I rely on ddd.

On a side-note, your algorithm is very inefficient. You should find the mid-point of the input string, then starting from the middle of the word, compare each character with its mirror. Be wary of even-sized strings vs. odd-sized strings.