PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] A few questions before installing Ubuntu.

Tom Gilroy
April 8th, 2009, 11:01 PM
Hello everybody! I'm completely new to Linux and intend to install Ubuntu within the next day or so. I've downloaded and burned the live cd, and after booting from the cd I noticed no problems, bar the touchpad of my laptop being unresponsive (my USB mouse works perfectly, and there are no wireless issues). This problem strikes me as somethings that's probably easy to fix, or am I mistaken?

My laptop is quite high spec (64-bit architecture, 8GB of RAM and so on), and Vista was the supplied OS.

I would like to have a triple boot system, Vista and two Linux distros (this is so I can experiment with different distros easily and find which suits me best), and I have a few questions.

I've been told that I'll need a swap partition, and that it should be twice the RAM I have available. Is this really necessary with 8GB of RAM available? If it's still advisable, is 16GB really necessary? Surely 1-2GB would be plenty?

I've also read here (http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/partitioning) that a home partition would be useful, how large should a home partition be?

Also, as I said, I'd prefer to have another Linux distro available when booting. Will one swap partition suffice for both? If I make home partitions for each, will the distros keep to their own home partition?

As I see it, I need 7 (maybe 8) partitions. One for Vista (NTFS), one for shared documents (FAT32), a partition for each linux distro and a home partion for each (Ext3), a swap partition and I may choose to keep the Windows recovery partition, or does anybody have another suggestion?

Therion
April 8th, 2009, 11:04 PM
Instead of all that partitioning and installing, I'd suggest you try LiveCD's to make your decision about which distro, or distos, you want to install to your hard drive.

LiveCD's let you take a distro on a test-drive without all the fuss of a hard drive-based install.

lisati