PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dell Dimension 2400 issue ubuntu 8.10

Cxtroen
April 7th, 2009, 11:30 AM
Hi All,

complete ubuntu newbie here so excuse me if I am not quite up to speed. Basic problem of failure to boot I've solved by removing the quiet splash text from the boot kernel as per posts on the forum.

The new problem is after login;
Basically I get an orange screen a mouse pointer but no other interface icons or otherwise to click on....

The mouse moves about but no menus on right or left click and I can't get the console to open.

Keyboard and Mouse seem to work fine as I can key in username password and so on

All ideas welcome

Penguin Guy
April 7th, 2009, 11:35 AM
Try booting into recovery mode, once you are in type startx to enter the graphical interface.

Cxtroen
April 7th, 2009, 11:57 AM
ok well I tried the boot in recovery mode option and it gave me a menu to fix things like broken packages as in up down and enter to make them work and finally a boot normally option. There did not seem to be a boot in recovery mode on the menu.

once again into orange screen and nowhere to type startx

presence1960
April 7th, 2009, 12:23 PM
ok well I tried the boot in recovery mode option and it gave me a menu to fix things like broken packages as in up down and enter to make them work and finally a boot normally option. There did not seem to be a boot in recovery mode on the menu.

once again into orange screen and nowhere to type startx

when you choose recovery mode from the GRUB menu that interface that comes up is recovery mode! Boot into recovery mode and choose xfix - try to fix xserver. If that doesn't work in recovery mode again choose root - drop to shell prompt
then enter startx

Cxtroen
April 7th, 2009, 12:56 PM
No won't login now just goes to a black screen and hangs