PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu doesn't let me change vissual effects

ssno117
April 7th, 2009, 02:27 AM
hello

i am having problems with my ubuntu 8.10 desktop

whenever i try to change the visual effects from none to extra or normal - - it doesn't let me do it and says unable to change visual effects.

I dont know what graphics card i have ( can u give me the command to find out ?)

i also added compiz config system manager and selected desktop cube and 3d windows feature.

although it doesn't work

PLZ help me

i am a noob at linux so please keep it simple

thanks guys and gals

EXCiD3
April 7th, 2009, 02:31 AM
Open up Terminal (Applications->Terminal) and run

lspci -nn | grep VGA

And this will display your video card information. With that in mind we can help you get the proper drivers for it so that you can use desktop effects (hopefully).

linuxuser21
April 7th, 2009, 02:37 AM
I am running Ubuntu Studio in Virtualbox. I know my card can handle it and I know it can because it can do it and then some on my host machine. Is there a way to force it to?

ajmctaggart
April 7th, 2009, 03:50 PM
http://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?t=5533&sid=b8600f35a2ec92df0ac04bddaeec9897

May have your answer...

Up to this point, I thought it was a "no," for 3D in a VM, but it looks like it's possible, but I think it's really gonna burden the system...You would need ridiculous CPU because it can't take advantage of the graphics card your system has directly. If it did, what would your host system use to show you the guest system? Get it?

Good Luck, but I think if you want it, you're gonna need to take the plunge! :)

Adavur
April 7th, 2009, 06:48 PM
Hi. My problem is a bit like this but more 'unusual' I think.

I have my Ubuntu running at a 4gb USB-stick. First I enabled Extra Effects at a totally new Lenovo (IBM) ThinkPad x61. It worked fine.
Then I plucket the USB into an older IBM ThinkPad R50, which worked fine too.