PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New to Linux, ATI Radeon 9250 video card question

0Hz
April 6th, 2009, 10:34 PM
Ok, so I'm just starting out with Linux (Ubuntu 8.10). The system I'm running it on has an ATI Radeon 9250 which I normally use to drive dual monitors in Windows. The monitors are an HP w1707 (native 1440 x 900) and a much crappier Sony secondary monitor that I run at 1024 x 768.

Right now the best I can manage in Ubuntu is 1024 x 768 on the HP monitor (with no secondary display). I'm not really all that concerned with using the secondary display, I just want to know if there is a way to set the main monitor to a higher resolution (like 1440 x 900).

I know that there are ATI Proprietary drivers available, but again, I'm a total Noob with Linux, so should I try the ATI drivers?

Is it difficult to set up the proprietary drivers?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

$elvis$
April 7th, 2009, 02:03 PM
Mate I have the same graphics card and all I can tell you is go and buy a new one...Today I'm getting myself a new one... Gonna burn this one with a torch... :D

OR:
You can try to build your own drivers:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Radeon_9200/9250_(RV280)_and_DVI
I didnt had any luck with that method...
Good luck anyway...
Cheers....

Therion
April 7th, 2009, 02:11 PM
I know that there are ATI Proprietary drivers available, but again, I'm a total Noob with Linux, so should I try the ATI drivers?
Absolutely!

To install them simply go to System/Administration/Hardware Drivers and look for a "Restricted Driver". Double-click to install it. That should be all there is to it. If you DON'T see a restricted driver available, post back and we can install the ATI Restricted Driver manually. You're certainly not going to get the most out of your card without the restricted driver in charge of things.

Cybie257
April 7th, 2009, 02:34 PM