PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Will Not Boot IDE when SATA Available

contax
April 6th, 2009, 07:25 PM
First, I'm new to all of this. My two and three year old have Edubuntu systems, but that is the extent of my system experience. I've searched for an answer.. I'm sure this has been covered..but haven't found a relevant post.

I'm trying to put together a Samba file server on a new Atom 330/Intel system. The boot drive is a 120MB IDE drive and /srv and swap partitions are on two 1.5TB SATA drives in software Raid1, ext4. I can setup the system just fine with Server Edition 9.04 as long as I haven't any SATA devices. When I install with the SATA available, the system tries to boot off of HD (0,1) ext4 and I know that I have my IDE setup with a separate /boot with boot flag on in a primary partition sitting at the beginning of the IDE drive and ext2. I don't know which drive is HD (0,1), but I do know that my only ext2 partition is /boot. Bios is set to boot off the IDE. My error message at boot is Error 15: Can't find file. Of course, it is looking on the wrong drive.

Can I instruct the boot system to load from my ATA /boot? For example, is there a line command that I can add prior to the boot sequence? I don't know why it is booting from a drive/partition without a boot flag on. My / (root) partition as well as all other partitions are ext4. I didn't see any other facility when partitioning for settting up /boot to run grub other than the boot flag. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Mark Phelps
April 6th, 2009, 09:25 PM
I started with an IDE-only system. When I added a SATA drive, the BIOS automatically selected that drive as the boot device. When I unplugged the SATA drive, the BIOS automatically reselected the first IDE drive as the boot device. Sounds like the same thing is happening to you.

Go into the BIOS and check the order of the hard drives. You want your boot drive to be the first one in the list.

contax
April 6th, 2009, 10:26 PM
Mark: