PDA

View Full Version : How Do You Customize WordPress

SuperMike
April 6th, 2009, 06:01 PM
I'm a PHP developer. I have my own way of customizing WordPress, where I convert it from a blog engine and into a CMS to give a small business a "web presence" site with a contact form, calendar, and a newsletter signup.

The problem I'm having is that I stay fairly "canned" because I have found a theme that is customizable -- however some clients want something exotic. I mean, some clients may have already gotten a web designer to draw up a PSD or TIFF image, and then want me to convert that into a WordPress theme.

I can handle the PSD to XHTML/CSS chopping okay, but the problem I have is understanding the WP object model to pull the "Pages" and menu navigation feature into the XHTML. That is why I have been going with the canned approach of just customizing an existing theme and then commenting out Posts and Comments and Plugins.

So, what links do you have that can show me how to take *any* XHTML/CSS theme and attach it to a WP site?

SuperMike
April 7th, 2009, 05:10 PM
I found my hope and inspiration here:

http://www.jestro.com/web-design/convert-xhtml-css-to-wordpress/

This jestro guy gets a medal. That code right there lets me take any XHTML/CSS template and convert it into a WordPress template.

Inside my template files, I also commented out comments and posts and stuck only with "Pages".

The next thing I did to my new theme was replace "the_content(...)" call from my index.php. I grepped for the function declaration of "the_content()" and then cut and paste that code. I didn't just want to paste it into index.php, so I made index.php include a file called content-hook.php, and that's where I pasted it. Next, right before the "echo $content" statement, I added this line:

$content = preg_replace('/\{([-A-Z0-9]+)\}/e','file_get_contents(TEMPLATEPATH . \'/hook-$1.php\')',$content,1);