PDA

View Full Version : [other] Can I run Ubuntu+Vista Home+Win2000?

walterius
April 6th, 2009, 05:07 PM
If I can, how?

Here are some details:

I am a retired systems software person, and have used many OS's and computers. I have plenty of Windows experience (3.1 on up), but none with virtual machines. I am fairly familiar with Ubuntu. I am a Win2000 guru, if I may say so. :)

I have a new Dell Vostro 220 with Vista preinstalled. No Vista DVD; just the recovery DVD and partition. I am new to Vista, so I have ben on a learning curve.

I am presently running Vista Home Basic, with Ubuntu 8.10 running as a *program* under Vista. I hope to upgrade to the new Ubuntu this month. I consider my Vista/Ubuntu system a dual boot system.

I no longer run Win 2000 because I wanted to try just Vista. However, Vista can't install and/or run all my old programs, mostly gfx, (even after adjusting for administrator rights and compatibility) and I miss many of them, such as PSP6 and others.

Therefore I want to run a "*triple* boot system," so I can:

(a) Use Vista (and upgrade to Windows 7 if it is better).
(b) Continue to play with Ubuntu. (I mainly use the games, I admit.)
(c) Use my old pgms with Win2000, which runs them just fine.

Can I do this? And is there a better way?

I live on Social Security in govt-assisted housing, so I can't upgrade many/any old pgms. I am happy with my oldsters (I'm old too; I'll be 70 in less than 2 weeks) and I want to use the old pgms if possible.

Sincerely, and many thanks,

Walterius
Fort Lauderdale
:popcorn:

kiridude
April 6th, 2009, 05:19 PM
I don't see why not. I run a triple boot of Windows XP, Redhat, and Ubuntu.

I would recommend partitioning your hardrive and installing one OS per partition rather than trying to run in Windows.

Or did I misunderstand and you want to run all three from one OS, in a virtual machine?

MysticGold04
April 6th, 2009, 05:22 PM