PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help with usb install

Professor Groove
April 6th, 2009, 03:59 AM
Hello, I am new to Ubuntu. I downloaded the Ubuntu 8.10 ISO and used unetbootin to put it on a usb drive. I boot from usb in bios and a black screen comes up that says "Ubuntu" and there is a loading bar. After the bar loads the screen goes white and nothing more happens until I turn off the machine.

Any suggestions?

TheFuzz4
April 6th, 2009, 07:21 AM
I've had this happen before with Kubuntu for some weird reason. When the screen goes white try using a CTRL + ALT + Backspace (This will restart your X Server) and see if that helps clear up the problem.

tommcd
April 6th, 2009, 07:30 AM
Try the Ubuntu 8.10 32 bit alternate install CD if you can't get the live CD to work. The alternate install CD is a text based installer. It is pretty easy to follow.

And welcome to the Ubuntu forums!

ProfessorGroove
April 6th, 2009, 05:02 PM
Thanks Tom; I'm trying that now. I'll post back here with results.

SR_ELPIRATA
April 7th, 2009, 12:29 AM
It would also help the system specs you have. Far as I know, Ubuntu 8.10 requires 384MB RAM, so if u have less....

I downloaded, aside of Ubuntu, also Xubuntu, for those machines in which gives me problems. I also have a gOS CD, the one that used Enlightment, and many times, PCs with low specs run both of them well (xubuntu and gos).

ELP

ProfessorGroove
April 7th, 2009, 08:59 PM
System specs:

Thermaltake Armor Series Full ATX case
Asus Rampage Formula mobo
Q6600 Core 2 Quad @ 2.4 GHTZ
4 GB munchkin ram DDR2 800
HIS ICE-Q Radeon 4870 graphics card (1GB DDR5)
Supreme FXII sound card (comes with mobo)
1TB 7200RPM Western Digital HD
850W PSU

ProfessorGroove
April 10th, 2009, 10:45 PM