PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] limited connection to internet

Patggf
April 5th, 2009, 06:49 PM
I have a Dell desktop 2400 with a direct wire dhcp ethernet connection to a sky router.
I'm running Ubuntu 8.04. When I start the computer sometimes I have no connection to the internet at other times it will work fine. I've tried reading the Absolute Beginners forumn and tried the following. I hope it helps.

/* first session */
-------------------------------------------------------------------
pat@pat-desktop:~$ sudo ifconfig eth0 down
[sudo] password for pat:
pat@pat-desktop:~$ sudo ifconfig eth0 up
pat@pat-desktop:~$ ping google.com
ping: unknown host google.com
pat@pat-desktop:~$ ping 4.2.2.1
connect: Network is unreachable
pat@pat-desktop:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0f:1f:54:27:5e
inet6 addr: fe80::20f:1fff:fe54:275e/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:29 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:4290 (4.1 KB) TX bytes:984 (984.0 B)
Interrupt:20

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:982 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:982 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:49100 (47.9 KB) TX bytes:49100 (47.9 KB)
pat@pat-desktop:~$
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Then I tried restarting the computer and had no connection either to the web with Firefox or with Synaptic Package manager. Then I tried sudo dhclient and was able to connect with Firefox and Synaptic. On restarting the computer again I had no connection. Again typing sudo dhclient and I was able to connect with Firefox and Synaptic.

Any clues about what is happening here. If you need more information please ask.

ronocdh
April 6th, 2009, 08:28 PM