i now have
-windows
-ubuntu 7.04
-ubuntu 8.10

is there a way to remove ubuntu 7.04 from ubuntu
thanks

ronparent
April 5th, 2009, 03:03 PM
Simply use your partition manager booted to ubuntu 8.10 to unmount and delete the ubuntu 7.04 partition. You will have to either delete out references to 7.10 in your grub boot menu or rerun the grub setup command to configure it to your current configuration.

Note that unless you need the space, you could leave 7.04 in place. If you need the space you can use partition manager to expand your remaining partiotions to fill the remaing unallocated spave left by deletion of the 7.04 partition!

dyyyy
April 5th, 2009, 04:47 PM
:S:S sorry i'm still a beginner
where can i find the partition manager?

Pasdar
April 5th, 2009, 05:44 PM
:S:S sorry i'm still a beginner
where can i find the partition manager?

It's not installed on your system, install "gparted" from package manager and then run it by doing ALT + F2 and typing "sudo gparted". Be careful of what you do there, its permanent.

ronparent
April 5th, 2009, 05:58 PM
In ubuntu 8.10 it is, om your menu bar, System> Administration> Partition Editor. You should probably read up on it's use before you try it.

dyyyy
April 5th, 2009, 09:42 PM
hi i think i got it,
just to make sure, before i do anything silly :P
these are my partitions :
-windows
-ubuntu 7.04
-ext3
- ubuntu 8.10
-linux-swap
-FAT32
-ext3
-linux-swap
-unknown
-unallocated
i should right click on ext3 in ubuntu 7.04 and delete it, then format the unallocated space right?

ronparent
April 5th, 2009, 09:50 PM
Or grow one of the adjacent partitions to fill the space. Also, youneed only one swap.

drs305
April 5th, 2009, 09:51 PM
hi i think i got it,
just to make sure, before i do anything silly :P
these are my partitions :
-windows
-ubuntu 7.04
-ext3
- ubuntu 8.10
-linux-swap
-FAT32
-ext3
-linux-swap
-unknown
-unallocated
i should right click on ext3 in ubuntu 7.04 and delete it, then format the unallocated space right?