PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Nvidia SLI and dual monitor



mariourk
April 4th, 2009, 05:37 PM
I have 2 Nvidia cards in SLI. On the first card, I have 2 monitors. This works fine, until I try to enable SLI. When I do that, only one monitor will work.

I tried every possible combination, where to put:


option "SLI" "auto"


Does someone have the same setup as me actually working? This is driving me carzy :'(

championboxes
April 7th, 2009, 05:14 PM
If I remember correctly whenever I tried to hook up two monitors in windows I had to disable SLI so its probably the same in linux...

dmitriyp13
April 7th, 2009, 05:15 PM
I have never worked with SLI but what if you try to plug in the second monitor into the second card?

mariourk
April 9th, 2009, 08:06 AM
It seems that SLI is not compatible with 2 or more monitors (however, the latest Nvidia drivers seem to support it)

I solved my problem to hook each monitor to it own card. That way each display will be rendered with its own GPU and that's good enough for me :)

I only use SLI for games anyway. And I play most of my games in windows ;)

fhslacrosse13
June 23rd, 2009, 11:05 PM
Could someone who has this set-up working(one monitor per card) please post their xorg.conf file. I'm having trouble with getting everything working properly.

mariourk
June 24th, 2009, 07:01 AM
Here is my xorg.conf


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
Option "DontZap" "off"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Iiyama PL2201W"
HorizSync 30.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 55.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "hp L1702"
HorizSync 30.0 - 81.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 76.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 9500 GT"
BusID "PCI:3:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 9500 GT"
BusID "PCI:5:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device2"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 9500 GT"
BusID "PCI:5:0:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device3"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 9500 GT"
BusID "PCI:5:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1024x768 +0+0"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Device1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "metamodes" "1024x768 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

It's a bit of a mess, because it was generated by nvidia-config. I advasi
you to use this tool. I had to edit this line manually, because nvidi-setting places the monitor on the right:


Screen 1 "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"

If I rembember it correctly, these two sections are important:


Section "Device"
Identifier "Device2"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 9500 GT"
BusID "PCI:5:0:0"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device3"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 9500 GT"
BusID "PCI:5:0:0"
Screen 1
EndSection

As you can see, individual monitors (Screen 0 and Screen 1) are assigned
to the devices. Maybe I also edited this manually, I don't know :)

Hopefully this helps.

fhslacrosse13
June 25th, 2009, 02:48 AM
Thanks, I'll give that a try sometime when I can afford to screw stuff up :grin: I've had very bad luck with getting this to work. As of right now I have a gpu doing nothing because both screens are on the same card:-(