PDA

View Full Version : Encryption weaknesses

blueshiftoverwatch
April 4th, 2009, 02:25 AM
I was thinking about encryption for Internet based communications, it's weaknesses, and how these weaknesses could possibly be overcome. I'm by no means an expert in the art of cryptography but here are some of my thoughts about the weaknesses of currently existing encryption systems and some suggestions on how they could be made more secure.

The only downside to encrypting your email or instant messaging conversations through protocols like OpenPGP (PGP and GPG) and Off-the-Record Messaging is that it would extremely obvious to any third party that might be watching (ie authoritarian governments) that you were using encryption. I'm no expert but it seems as though the same software that can be used to scan for certain key words or phrases and red flag emails/IM's that contain those key words or phrases could also be used to scan for encryption. Because instead of being a series of recognizable words the encrypted email or IM would be a string of seemingly random letters and numbers. A metaphor for this might be if everyone who was sending letters through the physical mail using encryption put their letter in a red envelope instead of the standard white. Anyone who saw the red envelope would instantly know that the person sending the letter cared enough about other people not being able to know it's contents that he encrypted the message instead of sending it clear text like most people do. Giving rise to the suspicion that the sender had something to hide. Just as anyone who might be viewing the conversation of two invididuals using encryption would be able to instantly tell that they were using encryption because the text would appear to be a bunch of gibberish instead recognizable of words and sentences.