PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Two Grub Menus ?

l0stb0y760
April 3rd, 2009, 05:40 AM
Ola,

the issue I have is not critical but yet quite annoying and am wondering if there is a fix for this. However this will take some explaining. So here goes..

My set up includes two hard drives, one C drive and one D drive. My Windows XP install resides on my C drive by itself. I have some previous experience with Ubuntu and recently wanted to install it again. However I didnt want to touch my C drive, I wanted it dedicated to Windows XP. So I figured ill just put it on the D drive no problem, plenty of space. As I proceeded to install Ubuntu 8.10 I noticed it had an option to ''install inside of windows''.

Which in turn, would also give you the options to simply uninstall Ubuntu if needed there for no partitioning needed. Sounds good to me so far. So I went with the option of installing Ubuntu inside of Windows and I chose to install it on the D drive again leaving my C drive untouched.

I rebooted and immediately got to the Grub menu and booted to Ubuntu no problem. However this grub menu looked different from the Grub menu which lists the ubuntu kernel, (generic), and memtest. The grub menu I was getting simply had Ubuntu and Windows XP listed, no problem. I figured it was this way because I had not done any partitioning, great. Anyway, I ended up deciding to simply partition my C drive an put Ubuntu on there. You still with me? Okay here's where the problem comes in. Before I actually installed Ubuntu on my C drive by partitioning I said well let me uninstall it first from the D drive. I did so rebooted and for some reason i still got the same Grub menu that said, windows xp and Ubuntu.