PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 8.10 won't install

sittykitty
April 3rd, 2009, 02:46 AM
Hi, everyone!

I'm totally new to Linux, so please forgive me if this was answered already. I searched but couldn't find much info, other than possibly needing to burn Ubuntu at a slower speed. However, I've burned it at 2X and 8X, but neither works on the desktop. Knoppix will not boot on the desktop either.

PC HISTORY:

I wanted to install Ubuntu over the entire disc on my desktop (homemade pc, running XP Pro, dvdrw, 1.24 gb ram, 160 gb hd (i think), 80% free memory, intel pentium 4, Asus motherboard). This computer is/was infected by some horrible virus/worm. I tried to reinstall XP Pro last fall, but it would not take. I'm not sure what went wrong, but all of my old files were still left on the system, and came right up again. It was so bad at one point that I couldn't even start the system in safe mode to perform a virus scan. All of my anti-virus/anti-spyware programs (ever single one of them) went on the blink.

I got AT&T Uverse at the beginning of the year, downloaded McAfee, and then Avira, AVG, AD-Ware, SpyBot, etc, and was finally able to scan my entire computer in safe mode. Before I did that, I found 1 keylogger, but everything came up clean with the safe mode scans.

The computer started running super slow again, even thought there's practically nothing on it now. Best of all, my computer tried to dump itself a total of 4 times, luckily while I was sitting right there. I turned it off manually, but it still managed to delete/corrupt/disable programs like firefox, ad-ware, etc each time. The last time was yesterday.