PDA

View Full Version : A Word About Poka-yoke

Thelasko
April 2nd, 2009, 05:42 PM
I was reading a story on Slashdot titled "Linux Needs Critics" (http://linux.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=09/04/02/1317246&art_pos=3) and read the following comment:

As a non Linux guy, I've been interested in installing Linux several times but the community has turned me off. If you go on a forum or something similar and suggest a feature you're often told that you're doing it wrong. That's probably true, but it's poor attitude for growing a client base. Me: I'd like mirrors on my car to assist in backing up. Linux community: The best way to back up is to turn around and look out your rear window. While technically correct, how many people back up using their mirrors?
As an engineer, I've run into this problem many times in my life. Users often request features, only to discover that using said feature means they are not using the product correctly. Users often get frustrated by this, but it's to their own benefit.

The Japanese have a word, poka-yoke, which roughly means "fail-safing", "Foolproof" or "mistake-proofing". The classic example of poka-yoke is the square peg in the round hole. Toyota made poka-yoke (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poka-yoke) a cornerstone in it's production system (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Production_System), and is regarded as a reason why their cars have such a high reputation for quality.

As an engineer, I've encountered numerous examples of people who have gone through great lengths to defeat poka-yoke. Being a mechanical engineer, many of these involved very large hammers. In the world of Ubuntu, I've seen the hammers replaced by source code.