PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Flash Player problems.

AaronSD
April 1st, 2009, 04:43 PM
I just received my mini dell 9 with linux on it, so far i love it although firefox is giving me problems with flash. I searched the forums but to no avail.

I have installed flashplugin-nonfree yet when ever i go to a website which uses flash im prompted that i am missing plugins.

Im fairly new to linux (as in less than 24 hours of use) so try to make your answers user friendly thank you.

Guymed
April 1st, 2009, 05:56 PM
I have the same problem. Only when I try to install it from the Adobe website, when I open the package it says 'wrong architecture 'i386''. I need for it to work because I run a website about flash games.

brianchidester
April 1st, 2009, 07:17 PM
sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras

Guymed
April 1st, 2009, 11:25 PM
Sorry, but that STILL didn't work. IT DOESN'T WORK! EVERYTHING I TRY DOESN'T WORK!

bluewhaletail
April 2nd, 2009, 12:20 AM
Didn't work for me either. I've gotten the Debian "install_flash_player_10_linux" package from Adobe and installed it. I've installed the "adobe-flashplugin" via Adept manager. I've invoked both

sudo apt-get install flashplugin-nonfree

and (most recently)

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras

Which apparently installed:

cabextract gstreamer0.10-ffmpeg gstreamer0.10-pitfdll
gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad-multiverse
gstreamer0.10-plugins-ugly gstreamer0.10-plugins-ugly-multiverse java-common
liba52-0.7.4 libavc1394-0 libavcodec1d libavformat1d libcdaudio1
libdc1394-13 libdv4 libdvdread3 libfaac0 libfaad0 libfreebob0 libgmyth0
libid3tag0 libiec61883-0 libiptcdata0 libjack0 liblame0 libmjpegtools0c2a
libmms0 libmpeg2-4 liboil0.3 libopenspc0 libquicktime1 libsidplay1
libsndfile1 libsoundtouch1c2 libwildmidi0 libx264-57 libxvidcore4
msttcorefonts sun-java6-bin sun-java6-jre sun-java6-plugin
ubuntu-restricted-extras unrar