PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Triple boot help!!!!!

Gordowmay
March 31st, 2009, 04:44 PM
OK, I'm going to say it I'm a newbie! There that's off my chest.
I'm new to Ubunto and I really don't know scripting and I would like to learn. I need to setup a system that has a triple boot. windows 2000 server, XP pro, and Ubunto 7.1. I would like Ubunto to be the bootloader. Is there a simple way of doing it? Also witch is a better bootloader and easist to work with GRUB or LILO? These are the quetions that I have and I would be very happy if I could get this triple boot to work!

coffeecat
March 31st, 2009, 06:05 PM
Is there a simple way of doing it?

Yes. Install Ubuntu last! :)

If you make two primary partitions (boot flags set) for your two Windows versions and install them and then Install Ubuntu, the Ubuntu installer will pick up the presence of the two Windows OSs and set up grub with a menu automatically.

Grub is the bootloader that Ubuntu uses by default. I don't know whether it's better than Lilo (depends what you're used to I suspect) but it's the one to go for if only because it is the Ubuntu default.

Before you install post details of the hard-drive(s) you intend to use, how big, how big the Windows partitions are going to be, and someone will post advice on how to get Linux partitions on there as well.

Edit: I've just noticed that you refer to Ubuntu 7.10. This is an old version - if support hasn't ceased already it soon will. Go to the Ubuntu download site (http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download) and get yourself either 8.04 or 8.10.

dandnsmith
March 31st, 2009, 07:42 PM
I agree with installing Ubuntu last

If you make two primary partitions (boot flags set) for your two Windows versions and install them
I think it better to make only one 'active', in order to not get BIOS complaints on booting, and also not to get a problem with Windows.

Install Win2000 before XP.

coffeecat
March 31st, 2009, 08:06 PM
I think it better to make only one 'active'