PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wiped hardisk, now I get an mrb error, how do I proceed?

Vincenso Andolini
March 31st, 2009, 04:01 PM
Hello all,

I endeavoured to flatten windows permanently on my computer. This is a process I had completed recently on another computer with no problems. On the computer in question I used Hiren's Boot Cd with Acronis Disk Director and wiped the hardisk twice over. Now when I try to boot from a cd, an Ubuntu cd, the computer (BIOS?) does not allow it and says "MBR ERROR".

I can press F12 upon startup to access Hirens Boot CD but I cannot boot from an Ubuntu disc. I want to install Ubuntu.

Does anybody know how I can fix this? I assume that the hardisk has a corruption in the master reboot file (?), but I am new to working with hardisks in this manner so I am not sure what to do.

All help is appreciated.

Vincenso

kpatz
March 31st, 2009, 04:08 PM
Go into your BIOS settings and make sure the boot order has the CD drive before the hard drive.

If that doesn't work, and just the Ubuntu CD isn't booting (but other CDs do), you may have a bad image. Redownload, check the MD5, and burn another disk and try again.

Vincenso Andolini
March 31st, 2009, 04:14 PM
Thanks for your reply.

I was in the BIOS already and my cd drive is set as boot #1, before the HDD too. Also, this cd was used two days ago to successfully install Ubuntu, so I know the .iso is a good burn.

Thanks, have anymore ideas?

Vincenso

kpatz
March 31st, 2009, 06:01 PM
What does this "Hirens Boot CD" have on it? Does it have a MBR repair or partitioning utility? Try that, if you can boot from that CD but not an Ubuntu one.

Once you have a MBR perhaps the Ubuntu CD will load, though I've never seen that happen before. Maybe the disk wipe you did wrote something other than zeros to the MBR sector and that's confusing the Ubuntu boot loader.

Another thing to try is DBAN. Download the ISO, burn it to a CD, boot it, and overwrite your MBR, then try booting the Ubuntu CD.