PDA

View Full Version : What is your "Ubuntu"?

Hetor
March 30th, 2009, 03:14 PM
I'm not sure if such a thread already exists, but anyways. What Ubuntu distro are you using? If you're using an unofficial distro, please specify which one. Also, it would be nice if you tell why do you prefer a certain distro.

For example: I'm using Xubuntu, because it works faster for me and I kinda like Xfce.

What about you?

PS: The forum list is very confusing, so I'm sorry if this thread is in a wrong section.

Mehall
March 30th, 2009, 03:16 PM
Crunchbang is what I use.

Faster than Xubuntu (by quite a margin, imo) and still a full distro.

And I think there's one of these in Recurring Discussions already, so prepare to be moved by a mod.

It's-Me
March 30th, 2009, 03:27 PM
I am new to linux and just installed Ubuntu 8.10 and yes i am facing some issues but they will be resolved sooner or later. Liked the whole ideology behind ubuntu and seriously giving it a go :).

@Mehall
I am not trying to pin point anything but you could have been a little nicer to Hetor. Let the Moderators do their job. They are better at it :).

Sealbhach
March 30th, 2009, 03:28 PM
Standard Gnomebuntu but I've also installed Openbox as a fallback window manager.

I switch to Openbox using Compiz Fusion icon if I want to start up a game or Google earth.

swoll1980
March 30th, 2009, 03:32 PM
@Mehall
you could have been a little nicer to Hetor. Let the Moderators do their job. They are better at it :).

Some people have feelings of inadequacy in their lives. Some people try to fill this void in their lives by trying to moderate computer support forums, even though it's not their responsibility.

aeiah
March 30th, 2009, 03:41 PM