PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New to distro, need advice.

1clue
March 28th, 2009, 12:13 AM
Hi all.

I've been using Gentoo for the past several years. I managed to get myself into a bit of library hell and decided I was spending too much time on a source-based distro to justify using it at work.

I came here because this is supposed to be the most trouble-free distro. I need it to just work, but I also have some requirements. I don't mind reading the manual, but I need to know where the latest copy of the manual is. Technology has changed dramatically since I last did an install.

I need to do an install, and I don't have a way to hook up another PC in this location, so once I start I will be disconnected until back up again.

I have an older machine, a P4 with 40g drive and 1.2g RAM. Here are my funky requirements:

Must be desktop environment. Don't know if KDE or Gnome is currently better, suspect it's 50/50.
I intend to use an LVM for growable partitions. I would like to boot from the logical partition, although a boot loader in ext2 or similar would be fine.
I need to have files which are >4g, which means no EXT filesystems as far as I know. I would also have the typical bunch of small files, so I would like to avoid a penalty for that.

I have a typical battery backup, but nothing special. This is not a server, in fact it's a developer machine and I will be running mysql and a web server on it, among other things. This is actually what caused me to post here. Most filesystems which accept large files want to be on a server last time I looked into it. I don't want to lose all my data if I crash the system.

It would be workable to have a separate filesystem for most of the large files, but if I can I would like to avoid that.

Thanks.

kidux
March 28th, 2009, 12:21 AM
Hi all.