PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Hanging During Installation.

Bortiquai
March 27th, 2009, 03:37 PM
I'm new to Linux/Ubuntu and all that.

I downloaded the 8.10 desktop version of the Ubuntu ISO.

When I boot the computer, I choose "Install Ubuntu". The orange bar goes across for a while, then it starts loading things, listed on the left, and then [ok] on the far right.

Then it gets to: Starting Bluetooth
and just sits there. No [OK].

I did the MD5 checksum on the ISO
I ran the Check CD for defects
I ran the Memory test.

All these things pass.

Have a basic P4 2.8GHz, 768MB Ram, PC. but no bluetooth hardware. Double checked in the BIOS, there is nothing about BlueTooth to disable. No bluetooth keyboard/mouse... nothing.

Windows is installed already on the hard drive, partitioned NTFS of course, but I don't even get to the part where it asks me about partitions, etc.

Any suggestions.
Thanks

s.dalas
March 27th, 2009, 03:40 PM
I never had this problem on any machine i installed Ubuntu.

I can't think of anything. Maybe you should download again the .iso file (and choose the correct version (i think p4 is 32bit).

Bortiquai
March 27th, 2009, 03:46 PM
I chose the 32-bit. Also downloaded it twice. Once last night, then again today. On the first download, i never ran the MD5 checksum. Just re-downloaded it. On this download, did the checksum, and it passed. Also the CD-Defect test.

The board is an SiS. Not the best, but this is my sandbox. Is Ubuntu supposed to work with most hardware? this seems like common enough brand names/hardware.

More Info:

When i do Ctrl-Alt-Del to reboot, it starts the shutdown process. It gets to "Stopping Bluetooth" and hangs. Have to hard re-boot to get anywhere.

s.dalas
March 27th, 2009, 04:01 PM
i was trying to find something similar in the forum but nothing. There were some problems with Sis but the most are Solved. And nothing was like yours.