PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Gnome from CLI

Thwelve
March 27th, 2009, 07:19 AM
I have Ubuntu 8.10 on my laptop, dual booting with WinXP.

Because I do not use a printer with my laptop, I decided to remove cups. I went into the package manager and removed all packages related to cups. I was warned of other packages (OpenOffice, Firefox,.. a very long list covering almost everything!) that had a dependency on cups. I assumed that only the dependency would be removed but on rebooting I find myself stuck at the command prompt.

How can I now restore the Gnome desktop?

A couple of points:
1. I'm no expert (as you can figure out), so a simple solution will be appreciated.
2. I'd like to install all packages from my LiveCD (I'm not sure if I can connect to the internet, I believe I also managed to remove the network manager etc)
3. I am ok with a minimal number of packages (Gnome+Firefox+connectivity to the internet) to be installed right now as I would like to upgrade to 9.04 when its out.
4. I do not want to experiment too much on my own as I don't want to lose Windows and have to do a complete re-install of both Win and Ubuntu.

I did some digging around the the following should get me started:

$ sudo apt-cdrom add
followed by

$ sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

Will this work? What else will I have to do to get my drivers (display, wireless etc) up and running?

Thanks!!

nebileix
March 27th, 2009, 09:20 AM
yeah, that should work.

stderr
March 27th, 2009, 12:43 PM
Yeah, looks fine. ubuntu-desktop is a meta-package which will install all the main packages related to the Ubuntu GUI. Hopefully it should sort out the graphics drivers, if they've also been removed; if not, the Restricted Driver thingy should moan at you soon after you get back into the GUI anyway. As for the network, I think any NetworkManager settings should have been preserved, since you presumably used 'sudo apt-get remove ...' as opposed to the --purge flag.

Should be fine.