PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] no Wifi



reacol
March 26th, 2009, 03:39 PM
Dear All,

What am I doing wrong? here is some information that I hope will help resolve the issue. Thank you all in advance!

mattia@mattia-desktop:~$ lsusb
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 006: ID 0864:4102 NetGear, Inc. MA101 802.11b Adapter
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 047d:1032 Kensington
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 413c:2005 Dell Computer Corp. RT7D50 Keyboard
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub


mattia@mattia-desktop:~$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 0071 (rev a3)
00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 007f (rev a1)
00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 0075 (rev a1)
00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 006f (rev a1)
00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 00b4 (rev a1)
00:01.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 0076 (rev a1)
00:01.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 0078 (rev a1)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 0079 (rev a1)
00:01.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 007a (rev a1)
00:01.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 007b (rev a1)
00:01.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 007c (rev a1)
00:01.6 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation Device 007d (rev a1)
00:02.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 007e (rev a2)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 007e (rev a2)
00:09.0 Memory controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 Memory Controller (rev a4)
00:0a.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 ISA Bridge (rev a4)
00:0a.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation CK804 SMBus (rev a2)
00:0b.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 USB Controller (rev a2)
00:0b.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 USB Controller (rev a4)
00:0d.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 AC'97 Audio Controller (rev a2)
00:0f.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation CK804 IDE (rev f3)
00:10.0 RAID bus controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 Serial ATA Controller (rev f3)
00:11.0 RAID bus controller: nVidia Corporation CK804 Serial ATA Controller (rev f4)
00:12.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:13.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 Ethernet Controller (rev a3)
00:17.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation CK804 PCIE Bridge (rev a3)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G70 [GeForce 7800 GTX] (rev a1)
03:03.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy (rev 04)
03:03.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy Game Port (rev 04)
03:03.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Creative Labs SB Audigy FireWire Port (rev 04)
03:0a.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB22/A IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)


mattia@mattia-desktop:~$ lshw -C network
WARNING: you should run this program as super-user.
*-network:0
description: Wireless interface
physical id: 1
logical name: wlan0
serial: 00:09:5b:46:b4:e1
capabilities: ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=at76_usb driverversion=0.14beta1 firmware=1.101.2-84 ip=192.168.2.5 wireless=IEEE 802.11b
*-network:1
description: Ethernet interface
physical id: 2
logical name: pan0
serial: ae:a1:33:64:26:4e
capabilities: ethernet physical
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=bridge driverversion=2.3 firmware=N/A multicast=yes


mattia@mattia-desktop:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:14:22:34:ca:85
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:23 Base address:0xa000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:265000 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:265000 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:12385728 (12.3 MB) TX bytes:12385728 (12.3 MB)

pan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr ae:a1:33:64:26:4e
inet6 addr: fe80::aca1:33ff:fe64:264e/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:936 (936.0 B)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:09:5b:46:b4:e1
inet addr:192.168.2.5 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::209:5bff:fe46:b4e1/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:8732 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5689 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1698419 (1.6 MB) TX bytes:40998 (40.9 KB)

mattia@mattia-desktop:~$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"belkin54g" Nickname:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.462 GHz Access Point: 00:17:3F:59:D9:FE
Bit Rate:11 Mb/s Tx-Power=15 dBm
Retry limit:8 RTS thr=1536 B Fragment thr=1536 B
Power Management:off
Link Quality=63/100 Signal level=66/100
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

pan0 no wireless extensions.

damis648
March 26th, 2009, 03:41 PM
From what you posted, it seems that WiFi should be working fine. You're sure nothing comes up when you click the network manager applet in the upper right hand corner of your panel?

reacol
March 26th, 2009, 10:51 PM
From what you posted, it seems that WiFi should be working fine. You're sure nothing comes up when you click the network manager applet in the upper right hand corner of your panel?

Actually I see the network just fine when I click on the NM applet, reception is good signal strength 50-70%. the problem is when I try (with NM) to ping anything but the 192.168.2.5 which is the ubuntu box but when I try to ping the 192.168.2.1 which is the router I get all packets sent but none received and when I ping 74.125.91.147 (www.google.com) I get 0 packs transmitted.

I must be doing something horribly wrong but not sure what....

thanks for the help you can offer.

sgosnell
March 26th, 2009, 11:41 PM
Can you reach any internet sites? If not, are you sure the modem is working properly? Can you reach sites with other computers?

reacol
March 27th, 2009, 12:08 AM
Yes, as I am writing this, I can connect WiFi and reach other sites with three other boxes, a Wii, a win XP (from where I writing this) and a PS3. They are on DHCP while the ubuntu box is on static IP as I could not get it connected with DHCP no matter what.

???



Can you reach any internet sites? If not, are you sure the modem is working properly? Can you reach sites with other computers?

sgosnell
March 27th, 2009, 12:19 AM
What issues were you having with DHCP? Are you using MAC filtering?

reacol
March 27th, 2009, 12:22 AM
Yes I use MAC filtering as well as WEP-128. I disabled both to no avail.


What issues were you having with DHCP? Are you using MAC filtering?

sgosnell
March 27th, 2009, 12:29 AM
Well, your posts show your wireless to be working. I'm out of ideas for now, and would suggest looking at the router settings, since they're different for your Ubuntu machine.

reacol
April 1st, 2009, 12:17 AM
thank you for the help, I am going to try again with a new wireless card. I will post my results, and any further assistance would be appreciated :o