PDA

View Full Version : any other distros i should try?

mamamia88
March 25th, 2009, 09:58 PM
im relatively new to linux and since i'm gonna wipe my harddrive in a month to get a fresh start with 9.04 anyway are there any other distros you would reccomend that i can try for a month or so until 9.04?

scottuss
March 25th, 2009, 10:08 PM
If you want a quick easy install and easy you could try Mandriva, Fedora, OpenSuse or PCLinuxOS. If you're feeling particularly brave (or just curious!) try Arch.

fissionmailed
March 25th, 2009, 10:12 PM
Debian or Arch.

mamamia88
March 25th, 2009, 10:12 PM
yeah i think ill give fedora a go just backing up my stuff now i already have the cd

super.rad
March 25th, 2009, 10:13 PM
Depends on how confident you are on linux & what you want to use your computer for.
If you want bleeding edge then try Fedora
Bleeding edge & rolling release then give Arch a go (is harder than most linux to install but follow the beginners guide and it's fine)
If you want stability then give Debian a go

CJ Master
March 25th, 2009, 10:14 PM
Linux Mint, an easier Ubuntu with great programs and codecs preinstalled. :)

http://www.linuxmint.com/

So Tough
March 25th, 2009, 10:17 PM
I would say to try chakra before Arch as you are new

scottuss
March 25th, 2009, 10:18 PM
Yeah I would say Fedora is probably the best for you actually. Although, if you read the beginners guide on the Arch website you will see that getting a fully functioning (and super fast, lean awesome) Linux installation isn't actually that hard

mamamia88
March 25th, 2009, 10:18 PM
i have both debian and fedora lived cds both run gnome so i think ill give fedora the go for a month to see if i like rpm better than deb

mamamia88
March 25th, 2009, 10:29 PM
so is arch as easy to use as ubuntu once i get everything installed? if its faster and as stable as ubuntu id be willing to give it a go even if the initial setup is a little hard

scottuss
March 25th, 2009, 10:32 PM