PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Using xubuntu, but want to try Ubuntu, have ubuntu cd

samsam_eli
March 25th, 2009, 09:44 AM
I currently have xubuntu installed on my computer, but I have seen it mentioned that the desktop which follows the Ubuntu software is easier for former windows users.

I am a complete newbie in linux so use small words when explaining:-)
I want to try the Ubuntu without deleting anything from my computer, like it's done with windows. Only, I have a xubuntu running, but I don't want to delete that. Just try the Ubuntu.

Also, if i like the Ubuntu, I want to install that without loosing anything of my work on the computer.

Can anyone help me? :-D

bigbencg
March 25th, 2009, 10:23 AM
The only difference between xubuntu and ubuntu is the desktop environment, ubuntu uses Gnome. Gnome can be installed along with Xfce, or KDE for that matter but will use about 1.2GB of HD space.

To install Gnome open a terminal and enter the following command

sudo apt-get install gnome

Enter your password, and your terminal will fill with stuff and will ask if you want to proceed and use x amount space. type y and the installation will commence. Now you can walk away for a while. Once completed log out, at the login screen there should be an option that says "Session". Click session, Gnome should be listed, select Gnome and log in.

Presto you are using "ubuntu"

Or you can just boot from the ubuntu CD and have it format the drive and install, but you will lose everything you have done in your current installation.

bigbencg
March 27th, 2009, 03:57 AM
Did you try it? Did it work?

Don't leave me hangin!

Snow Keld
March 27th, 2009, 07:52 AM
you can also search for "ubuntu-desktop" under the synaptic package manager.

although, you being an ex-windows user i would suggest that xubuntu has no difference to the gnome desktop as far as making the switch over from windows easier.

what are the specs of your computer (processor/ram)