PDA

View Full Version : What are APIs?

harisund
December 31st, 2005, 10:00 AM
And how do I use them?

These days, wherever I go there seem to be APIs... Google has hundreds.. XML-RPC seems to be the rage..

And what does it mean "binding in" a certain language?

Let's say I want to create a GTK based app using Glade.. now GTK is written in C.. what if i need to write C++ code, since I am more familiar with that? Any other language?

I have some experience with both languages like C++ and web based languages like Javascript, PHP and stuff.. so how do I make a start?

Thanks ! There are some interesting projects on Freshmeat and Sourceforge, but I really needed some help to start out on them..

coredump
December 31st, 2005, 04:25 PM
API stands for Application Programming Interface. It's shorthand for the set of function calls that an application can make on a library or operating system. For instance, in C, there's an API for opening, reading/writing and closing files: fopen, fread, fwrite, fclose. That API is defined in the C Standard Library.

The idea of "binding" in a certain language refers to the idea that a given set of APIs in, say, C might not work well in, say, BASIC. You'd want a slightly different way to access string variables, perhaps, or maybe the sizes of the integer parameter might need changing slightly. Anyway, that's where the binding comes in; you'd have a set of functions that work well in C, another (perhaps for object-oriented) set for C++, andother set for Ada, and so on. Same library, same overall capabilites, but differences in the details of how the functions appear in each language.

LordHunter317
December 31st, 2005, 05:34 PM
Not quite correct.