PDA

View Full Version : A 2D Classical Animation Program

VisionaryVanGogh
March 25th, 2009, 12:34 AM
Hi everyone, I'm a student studying animation. I have been looking all over the place for a 2D classical animation program that efficient and intuitive. I do not want vector-based software like Flash. When you want to work using more traditional techniques, (like hand drawn inbetween drawings instead of tweening) you have to work against the nature of the program.

I have tried other 2D animation programs like Toon Boom, TVPaint, and a couple of others. I have even tried the open source program Pencil. But they are counter-intuitive programs that put the emphasis on the wrong things. The most important thing to emphasize in an animation program is the timing. This is how animation works:

Animators usually work in 24 frames per second. But they don't usually make one drawing at a time in a linear order. They draw "key" drawings first. Important closely related moments in an action. Like a character getting out of a chair. You draw the character in the sitting position, then you draw the character standing out of the chair. Then you draw the inbetween drawings, showing the way the character gets out of the chair. The more inbetween drawings you use, the slower the character will move. And when using a computer program, it's important to be able to do things like "hold" a drawing, so that it plays for 1/12th of a second, instead of 1/24th. Sometimes you might even want to "hold" an image longer, like 1/8th of a second.