PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Sending Email From Command Line

mgarl10024
March 23rd, 2009, 01:43 PM
Hi all,

First time post. I'm quite new to Linux so please be gentle!

In short, I'm trying to set up email from the command line so that I can be notified in the event of hardware issues (e.g. a drive failure in my RAID1 array). I've got smartmontools monitoring the drive ok, now just the email sending bit to do...

I started off trying ssmtp and found it easy to set up and get working, however I think I need something slightly more robust. If ssmtp cannot send your mail right then (so, network issue, internet problem, or even on boot where it is initialised before the network) it fails and I wouldn't know there was an issue.
What I need is it to retry continuously until it gets through (perhaps trying every few minutes or so).

Some forums recommend exim4, but that seems overkill for what I need. The manuals also look baffling.

Some forums recommend sendmail. The config also looks quite complicated, and it slows down the boot of my machine by 10-15 seconds! Just feels overkill again.

I'm guessing there must be something lightweight out there. I don't need anything fancy, I don't need mailboxes, I don't want persistent (database) queues, just something light, in memory, that keeps trying to send my mail instead of giving up first time. Something like ssmtp with a queue would be ideal, and ease of configuration is a bonus!

Suggestions welcome... :)

Thanks in advance,

MG

PhrankDaChickenGeek
March 24th, 2009, 02:14 AM
I do it with Mutt and an external smtp email server

sudo apt-get install mutt

Edit the muttrc configuration file accordingly:

nano ~/.muttrc

Edit (You'll only need SMTP stuff for sending):

set pop_user = "EMAIL@WHEREVER.com"
set pop_delete = yes # We'll delete the messages once we download them
set pop_pass = "EMAIL PASSWORD"
set pop_host = "MAIL.WHEREVER.COM"

set smtp_url = "smtp://USERNAME@mail.WHEREVER.com:PORT/"