PDA

View Full Version : Windows can be virus-ridden, but is Ubuntu bug-ridden?

abyssius
March 23rd, 2009, 12:06 AM
Windows can easily become virus-ridden when used irresponsibly. Unfortunately, many people are so quick to label a given problem they have with Ubuntu as a bug, that this feeds into the myth that 'Ubuntu' is bug-ridden. It seems like every time I Google a question regarding some problem I encounter with Ubuntu it leads me to some sort of 'bug' report. I reluctantly click on a 'bug' link, and often end up in a launchpad thread where there's an ungoing argument as to whether a given bug exists or not. This adds to my frustration, but doesn't often help me to fix the problem.

Observe how often posters, especially in the Absolute Beginners forum, preface their post with "Is this or that a bug?". I've used Ubuntu for over one year now, had my share of configuration problems, but I have to be honest and admit that 99% of the time, it's my lack of knowledge that either caused my problem or prevented me from fixing it. I started with 7.10 - went through 8.04 to 8.10 and I can't yet affirmatively say I've encountered a 'bug' of any consequence caused specifically by the Ubuntu OS itself. Yet, because the B-word is used so promiscuously, Ubuntu is building an IMO false reputation for being 'unstable' - or as the title, implies, "bug-ridden". I know many non-Linux colleagues who claim this when I bring up Ubuntu or Linux in general.

New users should put in a reasonable effort to fix their problem, instead of casually assigning their problem to 'bug' status. Experienced users should consider using the B-word responsibly so that they don't contribute unnecessarily to any false impressions. What do you think?

lisati
March 23rd, 2009, 12:11 AM
My own experience is similar. Most of the problems I've encountered since using Ubuntu have been lack of knowledge on my part, or being too hasty to try something.