PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot Connect To Internet

Kensoi
March 22nd, 2009, 07:26 PM
Hi. I Am Totally New To Ubuntu. I Am Trying To Connect To The Internet & I Am Receiving The Following . Can Anyone Help? Thanks.

Bucky Ball
March 22nd, 2009, 07:32 PM
Welcome and hi.

Try going to System->Administration->Network, type your password to unlock, choose your wireless connection and hit properties. You will need the WEP key for the router and the name of the network to connect which goes in the ESSID field. Set to 'Auto DHCP' in that window also. You will notice in the ifconfig results you posted that 'Access Point - Not Associated' and the fact you have not been given and IP address are the problems. Also, Essid - " nickname " should be the name of your network.

You may need to explain your setup a little more specifically (always try to include OS version and whatever helpful details you can think of, including a descriptive title like the one for this thread), but try this first.

What version of Ubuntu are you using?

Kensoi
March 22nd, 2009, 07:37 PM
Hi & Thanks. 8.04 Version. I Will Try What You Mentioned Etc.
It's My First Time On Here & I Have Spent Alot OF Time Trying To Suss It Out Etc. As I Said It't The First Time I Have Had Ubuntu.
So I Am On My Way Out Now. Really Appreciate The Help.

Bucky Ball
March 22nd, 2009, 07:39 PM
You're welcome. Should be simple enough to fix. Let us know how you go. :)

Kensoi
March 22nd, 2009, 08:54 PM
Cheers. It's My Wifes New Netbook With Ubuntu 8.04 We Chose To Go Down This Learning Path With Ubuntu.

I Had Already Done What You Mentioned But I Still Don't Get Anything.

I Am Wondering If It Because I'm Trying To Connect To A WPA Enabled Router ? Netgear (DG834G) https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/WLANHowTo It Seems There Is Not A Page Created For WPA Yet. So I'm Wondering If This Is Possible ?

Kensoi
March 24th, 2009, 08:55 AM
Hi. I Tried The Instructions You Gave.

I Still Have The Same Problem.