PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Looking for simple backup/restore process

deviant78
March 22nd, 2009, 12:28 PM
Done a search on Google but want to ask here as i'm not too sure.

I recently did a clean installation of Ubuntu 8.10 64bit after deciding to ditch Windows.

The system is up and running just how I want it, so I want to make a backup 'just in case.'

What I'd preferably like, is a way to backup the entire system to a USB stick.

Then, if I need to or want to do a fresh installation I want to be able to boot with a live cd, drop in the USB stick and restore the drive, reboot and its how it was when I made the backup.

Don't know if this is possible, or if there is a better way to do it.

Please explain in easy steps as i'm still learning!

Thanks.

dandnsmith
March 22nd, 2009, 02:57 PM
Somewhere in the last couple of days I came across a method of remastering your linux installation to create an ISO file. I thought I got it from the pendrive linux site (http://www.pendrivelinux.com/), but cannot see it there on a quick hunt. It may even be somewhere on this (forums) site.

Another thought was to use partimage (http://www.partimage.org/Main_Page) for the backup - I'm not sure if it will write directly to, and restore from a usb stick. I think you'd need a bootable CD to get to restore a wiped system - but that is available (see partimage site) anyway.

wangsuda
March 22nd, 2009, 03:04 PM
you could try Quick Start. It is a system backup program with tons of options. you can read more about it here: http://www.quickstart.freeforums.org/

Mark Phelps
March 22nd, 2009, 04:43 PM
Another approach that works (I know, I use it all the time) is to download the P.I.N.G ISO from windowsdream.com, burn it to CD, boot with it, and image your system off to a USB stick. You can restore your system by rebooting from the CD, and selecting Restoration.

It's a GUI front end to PartImage.

I've used it over a dozen times and it's never failed me.