PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu morphing into windows...

Glenn Sandford
March 22nd, 2009, 02:14 AM
I recently re-formatted my hard drive with 8.10 after 8.04 ceased to function correctly. Now that isn't an issue, it is an ongoing adventure playing with ubuntu and I have been enjoying the process for over 2 years.

But I was compelled to join this forum to seek some answers about just where Ubuntu is heading??

Up until now Ubuntu has been a good slave. It does what I tell it if it can and there are lots of great graphic interfaces to access all of it's capabilities, not to mention the good old terminal. So I have to admit to being horrified at installing 8.10 only to have it jumping around like a Jack Russell terrier looking for attention. Files loaded from disk all had their permissions changed, I didn't ask it to do that. Little yellow boxes opening to tell me the obvious. I put a cd in the drive and it wants to start playing with the picture files on the disc.
Now I know that none of these things is particularly difficult to fix, usually just a moment of patience and at most a couple of mouse clicks.
But these are some of the things that I hate about the Windows environment. I dont want to be nagged at!
So this brings me to ask, what is the agenda? At what point do we loose the beauty of the linux/ Ubuntu system and just become a clone of windows with perhaps a more stable base?

NOw I know I am venting, but I'm up for some serious discussion here. Just what is the desired outcome of this project?

sailthesea
March 22nd, 2009, 02:20 AM
I think you jumped into the wrong sandpit here!;)
You raise an interesting point that may be worth pursuing perhaps in another forum?

Mark Phelps
March 22nd, 2009, 05:04 PM
You posted in "Installation and Upgrades", and while your question is about "upgrades" in some sense, you're really asking about the future intention of the product, not immediate upgrades.