PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] reinstalling after a format

Shooree
March 21st, 2009, 05:25 PM
Couldn't get my Acer 5920G stuff to work fully with the previous install of Xubuntu 8.10, so decided to reinstall since I'm a newb and probably messed up some important files while I was working on trying to fix those issues (hibernation mostly).

So, I stupidly merge the linux partition with an attempt at linux swap partition 2GB in size. (done from windows vista, which is on a partition of its own. realized I was making a HUGE mistake only when it was done). when it was done GRUB said that the file system check (or something) failed in auto mode, and that I sould do it manually. So I end up having to hold "y" for half an hour while it tried to reconfigure all the nodes and stuff I somehow messed up by joining the two partitions.
Unable to wait, I restart and log on to Vista. I format the entire linux partition, thinking that I'll boot from the xubuntu cd and reinstall everything.

But now, regardless of what order my boot sequence is in, I just get the horrible>
GRUB Loading, please wait...
ERROR 15

at which point I can only restart. Please provide advice as to how to at least get to my windows partition and install xubuntu from there again. Thanks and sorry for the long post.

Shooree
March 21st, 2009, 05:50 PM
Just tried a Vista bootable CD. It diagnoses no problems with my Vista config.

As I see it, this GRUB thing just stands in the way of windows' own boot manager, and since it has no data to load is stuck like that. How do I turn it off or uninstall. I need to get to Vista in order for the Xubuntu Install CD to work.

Setting BIOS to boot from CD doesnt solve it, since it ignores the Xubuntu one, if it wasn't clear from what I said above. Can I download something and use an USB drive to fix this perhaps?