PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] reconnect to internet

gkraju
March 20th, 2009, 03:38 PM
hi i am new to ubuntu
when my internet disconnects i have to go terminal and reconnect is there any way it will automatically reconnect like in Xp
thanks in advance

The Cog
March 20th, 2009, 05:05 PM
That's not at all clear what's going wrong or what you are doing or make it work again. But I will assume you are using wireless. You may find that wicd is a better wireless manager that the default one.
http://wicd.sourceforge.net/
It's what I use and I'm very happy with it.

gkraju
March 20th, 2009, 05:15 PM
That's not at all clear what's going wrong or what you are doing or make it work again. But I will assume you are using wireless. You may find that wicd is a better wireless manager that the default one.
http://wicd.sourceforge.net/
It's what I use and I'm very happy with it.

thanks for your reply but i am not using wireless connection
i have connected internet through ethernet PPPoE modem
i have line problem with the service provider (will be corrected soon) but the problem is if internet disconnects i have to reconnect in terminal with command
sudo pon dsl-provider
but in Xp it will redial automatically
how to make ubuntu reconnect automatically once internet disconnects
hope you undestand:P

March 20th, 2009, 05:49 PM
is the modem set to always on? or do you need to provide it with a user name and password to get in?

If you need to enter in a username and password, I understand that Ubuntu is not fully up to date with the ability to extablish such connections, as you can do in windows.

I suggest you log into the modem, and set it to always on. that way, all ubuntu needs to do is simply test and send a request to modem.