PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Downloaded tar.gz, How Do I Install Program?

ZombiesNTea
March 20th, 2009, 08:00 AM
http://storybook.intertec.ch/joomla/index.php/installation

Above is the link to installation instructions for a program I am trying to put onto my laptop here. I have no idea what I am doing, nor understand how to install this (I'm new to Linux). I went to the Add/Remove Applications, and the Synaptic Package Manager, with no luck. With what it says in the link above, I don't know where Id go to enter that or whatnot.

I went into the compressed tar.gz file (the file the site offered for me to download) and looked around, but there was nothing that I'd done that had helped.

Could someone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

dandnsmith
March 20th, 2009, 08:47 AM
Perhaps this will help (from the page you linked to)

=========================================
Linux

* Download the appropriate file from the download section.
* Copy the downloaded file to the desired directory. Storybook doesn't need root permission to install. You can install it in your home directory without any problems.

Extract the file:
$ tar xvf

Install it:
$ ./install.sh

Run it:
$ ./storybook.sh
==============================================

Partyboi2
March 20th, 2009, 08:50 AM
Open a terminal (Applications>Accessories>Terminal) and change to where the downloaded storybook_2.1.12_linux.tar.gz file. So if its on the Desktop

cd ~/Desktop
then extract the storybook file

tar xvzf storybook_2.1.12_linux.tar.gz
then change into the new directory

cd storybook_2.1.12_linux
then run the install script

./install.sh
then

./storybook.sh

guywithcable
March 20th, 2009, 08:56 AM
Wow, their instructions are terrible. First, open up a terminal, then you should "cd" to the directory where you downloaded the tar. The files in the tar are not in a folder, so I would make a new folder for it under your home directory, called "Storybook" or something. For example, to cd to your desktop, it's