PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Don't want LILO, want GRUB! (or: how to uninstall?)

schmoo2x
March 20th, 2009, 03:36 AM
Hi, everyone!

I'm sure the answer to this will be obvious once I see it, BUT here goes:

I'm working on setting up a server with a RAID configuration. I had, on a previous configuration, installed LILO configured to point to /dev/md0 for the bootup. Having changed the drive that / is mounted to /dev/sda1, I had installed grub in the Ubuntu Server installer disc, with the assumption that it would overwrite the MBR to boot using GRUB to /dev/sda1.
I finish the install, no errors, reboot, and LILO starts looking for /dev/md0 (which, of course, doesn't exist).

Long story short, how to I get rid of LILO so that GRUB can work its magic with my server?

Thanks for all the help! I know, I'm still learning...

dandnsmith
March 20th, 2009, 09:07 PM
Sounds like you didn't overwrite the bootloader in the MBR of the disk.
You'd have to have installed it to /dev/sda, rather than /dev/sda1, I think.
I'd almost forgotten, but the arrangements are different in LILO from GRUB.

Are you OK with that, or should I be ferreting out the details of the commands you have to run? I think you can do a repair of just the boot, starting from the installation CD.

schmoo2x
March 21st, 2009, 01:52 AM
sadly, i'm not entirely sure how to do that - i'm pretty new to dealing with bootloaders, usually it "just works."

How would I go about overwriting the MBR from the Hardy Server install disc? I'm assuming it's something in Rescue mode?

schmoo2x
March 21st, 2009, 02:08 AM