PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 32-bit or 64-bit?



Zubbus
March 20th, 2009, 12:33 AM
My new computer has such a CPU:

AMD Athlon64 x2 5200 Dual Core CPU

So which version is the correct one for me?

Thanks in advance.

acimmarusti
March 20th, 2009, 12:38 AM
64-bit should work well. But how much memory do you have? (RAM). 64-bit is required when you have over 3Gb of memory. But if you have 2Gb or more I would still encourage you to use the 64-bit version

dacorr
March 20th, 2009, 12:42 AM
I have the same processor but 2GB ram and i am running Ubuntu 64 with Gnome and KDE4.1, seems fine to me unless you run 6 virtual machines then it tends to slow down.

Zubbus
March 20th, 2009, 12:44 AM
I do have 4Gb RAM. So now 64-bit is required? Never heard of that before. Thanks for checking with me.

Also, I read on wiki that Athlon 64 only has a 40-bit effective bus or something. I don't suppose I even understood that. Doesn't matter to me I guess?

Thanks.

RedSingularity
March 20th, 2009, 12:46 AM
Yeah to use all 4 gig's you will need 64 bit.

acimmarusti
March 20th, 2009, 01:46 AM
Go with 64-bits. It will work fabulously on that hardware