PDA

View Full Version : What are you using your linux for ?

drfalkor
December 30th, 2005, 06:19 AM
I'm really bored, and I was wondering - what do you guys use your linux(ubuntu/kubuntu breezy etc...) for ?
I'm using it for gaming(only native games), internett browsing, programming(I'm trying to learn it) and music.
I've been using linux for 2-3 years now. :)

ardchoille
December 30th, 2005, 06:57 AM
I use my Ubuntu 5.10 box for:

Internet surfing - Firefox, gwget, gftp
email - Evolution
PIM - Evolution
Office documents - OpenOffice.org
Games - only native Linux games
Music - xmms, grip, easytag
Programming/scripting - python, glade2, anjuta, bash
DVD's - xine
username/password storage - revelation
Encryption - gnupg, seahorse
DVD/CD burning - graveman, cdrecord
Graphics - GIMP, inkscape
IRC - irssi, XChat
Personal Finance - Grisbi

I have found that Ubuntu does everything I want.

Griff
December 30th, 2005, 07:00 AM
Hmm. I use it for gaming, browsing, media storage (music, anime, mangas), GIMP'n, and learning about the software side of comps. Been on Ubuntu for about 3 months...and I have never been happier with my OS. :cool:

drfalkor
December 30th, 2005, 07:04 AM
gimp is not as good as Photoshop(or, maybe I'm just addicted to photoshop?)
I hope there will be photoshop for linux one day :) cuz I dont wanna run it via wine :)

TDonaghe
December 30th, 2005, 07:11 AM
I'm using Ubuntu for pretty much everything except City of Heroes. I'm not sure what else Windows is good for at this point. Oh yeah, I can't get to my bank's website except through IE.

thekiller
December 30th, 2005, 07:12 AM
I simply use linux cos i can get anything i might need anytime, and for free !:D

KEMitchell
December 30th, 2005, 07:23 AM
i use linux because i can afford it... and all the applications to go with it, too!

seriously:
as a development platform, its by far superior to MS Windows. windows essentially emulates the kind of build power on the POSIX systems.