PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual boot with Vista

tjsanda
March 19th, 2009, 04:59 AM
I am new to this so please forgive me. I have 2 80gig Hdd's in Raid 0 configuration with Windows Vista installed. Is it possible to add Ubuntu as a second operating system?

mdharp
March 19th, 2009, 10:39 AM
Hi. I don't use Vista, but with Win XP, I have had good results with dual boot system, but no experience with RAID over 2 drives etc.
First : you will need to wipe the hard drive, & create partitions on your hard drive. This means you will probably need to format the hard drive & re install Windows on the first partition created.
I usually create 3 partitions, & format the first two NTFS, install Windows on the first partition. eg; 250 GB HD = approx 3 x 80 GB partitions. Then "always" install Windows first.
The 3rd part of the hard drive needs to be left "raw" or "no partition". This is where Ubuntu installs. Make sure you have your internet connected when installing. As install progresses, choose the "use largest continuous free space" option to install on. It normally shows a screen asking if it should install eg; ext3 on 70GB partition, & then swap on another 2 or 3 Gb partition . It is usually quite automatic from there on. Be sure to install Grub boot loader in Master Boot Record. That should be the last step.
Hope this helps.
May be worth searching forum about installing on another 2nd hard drive to save wiping Vista install.
Good luck.

Mark Phelps
March 21st, 2009, 10:26 PM
I am new to this so please forgive me. I have 2 80gig Hdd's in Raid 0 configuration with Windows Vista installed. Is it possible to add Ubuntu as a second operating system?

Since installing in RAID seems to involve "wiping" Vista, just be sure you have the capability to reinstall Vista with the full setup (files, apps, settings) that you have today and ensure that the activation is not removed -- which means you'll need a LOT more than just a DVD.

mdharp
March 22nd, 2009, 05:30 AM