PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] NO Desktop Screen

smazam
March 18th, 2009, 04:52 PM
Hi,
I am new to Linux and trying to install ubuntu.

When in run Live CD of UBUNTU it boots, show process, after completing process mouse pointer comes with a screen color like Peach then mouse shows busy cursor With the screen goes black again mouse pointer shows with black screen no desktop display Mouse moving ,numlock and capslock keys not working on keyboard it seems to be hang condition.After this problem i install ubuntu with inside windows option installation goes perfect upto login screen, as I enter User ID and Password screen goes black and mouse working ,numlock and capslock not working same above condition,
centOS live CD 5.1 is perfectly working on My PC.

System Configuration
Compaq EVO d310 (intel board 845) builtin VGA ,SOUND and ETHERNET
RAM 1 GB
HDD 40GB and 20 GB
LCD 19inch Brand ViewSonic - max resolution 1680 X 1050
Installation CD i m using is UBUTU's free CD
Regards
Muhammad Azam.

Mark Phelps
March 18th, 2009, 10:30 PM
ALL the Ubuntu CDs are free. Which version is it? 8.04? 8.10?

richoo
March 20th, 2009, 06:48 PM
Hi,
I am new to Linux and trying to install ubuntu.

When in run Live CD of UBUNTU it boots, show process, after completing process mouse pointer comes with a screen color like Peach then mouse shows busy cursor With the screen goes black again mouse pointer shows with black screen no desktop display Mouse moving ,numlock and capslock keys not working on keyboard it seems to be hang condition.After this problem i install ubuntu with inside windows option installation goes perfect upto login screen, as I enter User ID and Password screen goes black and mouse working ,numlock and capslock not working same above condition,
centOS live CD 5.1 is perfectly working on My PC.

System Configuration
Compaq EVO d310 (intel board 845) builtin VGA ,SOUND and ETHERNET
RAM 1 GB
HDD 40GB and 20 GB
LCD 19inch Brand ViewSonic - max resolution 1680 X 1050