PDA

View Full Version : need to do something simple with Wubi

DouglasAWh
March 18th, 2009, 04:48 PM
I'm not really a programmer. I've done some web dev and took a Java class a while back, but it's not something I've touched in a year and I wasn't doing a lot of it then.

However, Wubi is severely lacking for the corporate environment and I need to fix that because Windows is also severely lacking for the corporate environment. What I want to be able to do is hard code a username and password. We want to be able to do that for when a Windows user inevitably gets a virus they can boot into Ubuntu and at least check their e-mail. Since all of our imaging tools are (sadly) of the Microsoft variety, we need to do the Linux install from Windows. Enter Wubi.

I think I can handle the actual code, but I'm not sure where the input fields might be. There seems to be a lot of files in the source. If someone could point me to the file where the options for possible OS choice and hard drive size are, I think I would find that very helpful.

Thanks!

shatterblast
March 18th, 2009, 07:29 PM
While not a direct answer, a web-mail interface could act as a secondary solution. It would allow a user to check his or her immediate e-mail, though it wouldn't resolve a lack of access to mail archives. The benefit might include allowing e-mail access at home computers for those with out the portable kind. If I'm understanding correctly, it also might reduce the need to just put in an Ubuntu disk for the purposes of retrieving e-mail on a server. With out knowing your corporate set-up, a server that controls a domain might suffice for the password and user name as far as e-mail goes. If you're wanting to password protect the Linux distribution, I think that might be separate altogether.